The Coalition of Peaks acknowledge and pay respect to Elders, both past and present and all generations of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples now and into the future as the Traditional Owners of this land.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this website may contain images, voices or names of people who may have passed away.


Our Partners

The Partnership Agreement on Closing the Gap is between Australian governments and the Coalition of Peaks (the Parties). It sets out how the Parties work together on Closing the Gap.

The parties to the Partnership Agreement are:

Coalition of Peaks

The Coalition of Peaks are made up of over 80 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community-controlled peak bodies and members across Australia. The Coalition of Peaks bring forward the views of their members and communities to all their discussions with governments.

Australian Governments

Australian governments include Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments and the Australian Local Government Association.

Australian governments now come together under the National Federation Reform Council (NFRC).

The members of NFRC are:

The Prime Minister

State and Territory First Ministers

The President of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA)

Partnership Agreement Governance Structure

Joint Council

The Partnership Agreement establishes a Joint Ministerial and Coalition of Peaks Council on Closing the Gap (Joint Council). The Joint Council is the first COAG Council that has formal non-government membership. It’s role is to support national leadership, coordination and cooperation on Closing the Gap and provide advice to COAG.

Membership of the Joint Council is made up on 12 members of the Coalition of Peaks, elected by us, a Minister chosen by each government, and a representative of the Australian Local Government Association nominated by its president.

The Joint Council is Co-Chaired by a representative of the Coalition of the Peaks agreed by us and the Commonwealth Minister.

Partnership Working Group for joint Council

The Joint Council is supported by a Partnership Working Group made up of senior officials of each COAG member and members of the Coalition of Peaks. Its role is to develop and progress issues for upcoming Joint Council meetings.